jd2 big c bike adventures 我们的中国自行车冒险

we’ve only been here 2.5 years, but our experience with bicycles here in the big c seems to grow daily.  thus, i will give you simple bullet items and only 1 story.

-bought 3 & rented dozens

-had one stolen at the police stand

-snapped off numerous peddles while riding

-snapped off 1 seat while riding (ouch!)

-broken many other seats, but at least they stayed on while I was riding

-blow out numerous tires while riding

-had numerous ornaments and other objects placed on the bikes so that we can better recognize them – stolen!

-have had our bikes so caked in dirt, that we cannot determine where our bikes were

-raced many different kinds of construction vehicles, I always manage to beat the tank type front end loaders.

-had to weld the pedal to the gears so that my bike would move forward.

-constantly told that the reason my bikes keep breaking is that i’m too big – it’s not a quality problem.

-discovered that gear shifters are only for decoration J

today’s experience was all brand new.  i (jarod) decided that since my classes are finally over – i should go for a bike ride for exercise.  in front of me were some abandoned buses that were being repaired, and they were lining the side of the road i was on.  i was keeping an eye out to see if people were on the buses, but they all appeared empty.  i was looking at the buildings around me when bam!  i found myself stumbling along the ground to keep my feet, and when i turned around i saw my bike skidding to a halt and another man laying flat on the ground.  his friends came across the street to laugh at him, and i asked if he was okay, but in my mind i was trying to figure out what happened. i also noticed that my face and right side was all wet, so I was looking for his water bottle, but… there wasn’t one.  All his other stuff was laying all over the street, but no water.  i then realized that it was his spit all over my face and arm!!  yuck!!  it turns out that the exact moment i was going by his bus, he decided to show off for his friends by jumping off, and since i was twice his size – he’s the one who got mowed down. he laid flat on his face for a few minutes.   i laughed the rest of my 45 minute bike ride, but i  also noticed that he broke my handle bars.  oh well – it’s the price you pay for entertainment here. J

below is a picture of me trying to fix the damage.

 

jarod’s bike repair

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by jdavis2. Bookmark the permalink.

About jdavis2

previously known as the young rockin' couple on the east side. we've been on the east side for 8 years now, and we've grown from 2 to 4!

Leave a Reply

