it’s been a week…

wow!  it’s already been a week since we learned that we were more than just parents-in-waiting…

i must tell you i’ve been so excited all week that i’ve had to depend on melatonin to get myself to sleep!  all week long jarod would look at me, say around midnight, and say, “jennifer you have to go to sleep, it’s late.”  to that i would reply with a huge grin on my face, “i know… but we’re parents… to a boy!”  and so it went on all week that i lived on as little as 3 – 6 hours of sleep.

of course, the real miracle is i woke up just as happy and excited every day!  anyone who knows me knows just how miraculous a smile on my face before noon can be!

last night i was finally so exhausted i found myself in bed at 9 pm scanning through the newspaper.  even so, i was still excited when i woke up this morning, because after all, it’s one day closer to our lil’ silver dragon!

sorry we don’t have any new information or pictures to share with you at this point… but as soon as we know more, you too will be “in the know!”

i do however, want to share with you some of the things Dad has recently laid on my heart:
“I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.  Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.  This poor man called, and the LORD heard him; he saved him out of all his troubles.  The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them.  Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.”  Psalm 34:4-8

for those of you who don’t know, last year was a very hard year for us.  by the time september rolled around we felt broken.  all of our dreams seemed to crumble before us.  we lost all hope.  we held on in large part because we had to… after all, believing in His goodness is faith put to action.  yet my heart ached.  and for the first time in my life i felt debilitating fear…  the fear was debilitating on so many levels.  the truth is, without Dad’s people who rushed to our aide i don’t know if i could have sustained under such despair and sadness.  i was a wreck and some dear friends of ours made their way to us across the miles… and because of their love and sacrifice we were able to endure.

the other day i was looking at a 2008 calendar… looking up our child’s birth date and reflecting on all that was happening about that time when i had a sudden realization.  in the midst of my greatest fears, in the midst of losing all hope… and in the midst of learning how to trust my Savior, my God… at the very time when we decided that we believed God more than our circumstances, more than our fears… our child was born.  during some of the hardest days of my life, our LORD birthed our son into our lives.  what an awesome God he is!

thank you dpfbc’s ‘team DASS’ (you know who you are) for blessing us beyond measure… and now rejoicing with us!

let’s say it together:
God is good…
all the time.
all the time…
God is good!
amen!

2 thoughts on “it’s been a week…

  1. Wow, J. Beautifully written. That verse is one of my favorites, too. Kevin and I were talking about God’s timing in your situation the other day and thinking about His goodness. It makes me cry to know how much joy you are experiencing right now. You’ve been a mommy in your heart for so long and soon you’ll finally get to hold your baby in your arms!!! What an amazing mommy you already are. And oh, the stories you will have to share with silver dragon some day.

  2. Yep, the adrenaline is rushing through you. It’s the exact same after childbirth. After 28 hours of labor ( 12hours of hard labor) I couldn’t sleep a wink!

    BTW, I got an e-mail from a friend of mine who is well connected in the Australia adoption community (we met on-line) anyway she said that they have seen healthy baby boys being matched only to infertile couples with high education degrees. Interesting.

    Hubs and I were talking today and we pretty much agreed that we’ll probably be matched with a girl since we already have a boy. I’d love to have another boy though. I’ve gotten so use to dinosaurs, trucks and trains.

Leave a Reply

