Bye-Bye Bible 再见圣经

“Third time’s a charm” people say, but I doubt it was in reference to my seemingly frequent ability to lose my Bibles. 1-2-3. This was the third time. Each time has been painful since each were filled with my personal notes.

The first time was in Houston outside of a furniture store. Someone broke into my wife’s truck and stole my Bible and a Jesus Video. They obviously needed them. The only sad part for me was having to pay $200 for a new window and losing the Bible that I read that used to renew my Faith in Jesus. I hope there’s an ex-con-turned-Bible-thumper out there who read it, watched the video and turned his life around.

The second Bible was separated from me on a public bus in Asia. We were on our way to church with some friends and my wife noticed that her bag had a brand new hole in the side. We looked and the only thing that was missing was my just-marked-up-with-all-my-personal-notes-Bible. It was leather and with a zipper and looked a lot like a local man-purse, so the thief was probably sorely disappointed to find that it not only was not full of money, but that it was a Book that condemned the pursuit of unrighteous gain! The good news is that this Bible was in the local language and I hope that there is now an Asian-ex-con-turned-Bible-thumper out there who read it and turned his life around.

My third Bible was lost just yesterday on Southwest flight 794 to Houston. I was nearing the completion of my marking up of my small travel Bible and I put it in the pocket in front of my chair (which I never do) because Sterling wanted to sit in my lap. Time went by, and we got off the plane and arrived safely home. Today I was looking for it as I wanted to finish marking it up and realized that my Bible took a trip to Philadelphia (that’s where the plane was going to continue on to). This one was all my fault, so I hope that there’s some ex-Houstonian-turned-Philadelphian-turned-Bible-thumper out there who read it and turned his life around.

3 thoughts on “Bye-Bye Bible 再见圣经

  1. sad story. A girl at DPFBC that was in my Sunday School class in high school lost her Bible, went to the lost and found to borrow one, and just happened to grab her very own lost-now-found Bible. Imagine! Maybe one day you’ll be on that same plane/bus/whatever and you’ll find your Bible in that same seat!

    Someone broke into my husband’s car and stole his backback that only had his Bible and a headset for work (that could only be used with specific computers). So, hopefully they joined your Bibble-thumping gang and are wondering around East Texas praising the Lord!

  2. Wow – I was a little confused there for a little while. I couldn’t figure out who was writing on ya’lls page.

    My first confused state was when I read:
    The first time was in Houston outside of a furniture store. Someone broke into my wife’s truck and stole my Bible and a Jesus Video.

    I’m thinking, ‘they don’t have a truck’!

    Second confused state was:
    …….. was separated from me on a public bus in Asia.

    Now I’m thinking, ‘that sounds like Jarod writing’, but still, they don’t have a truck.

    THEN, when I got to the THIRD lost-bible incident, I realized that in your first lost-bible incident, it was before you ever moved China!

    You know that feeling you get when you find some money you didn’t know you had? Well that’s the feeling I got when I figured out that I wasn’t confused after all. That sure was a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

