april fool’s (non) joke…

a notice was posted in the elevator

(one giant leap for courtesy)

it said that from april 1 until april 3 our complex would be without water

(three huge steps away from civility)

 

in the past no such warning or posting was given. one minute you had water and the next you didn’t. one minute you’re washing dishes and suddenly you’re unable to rinse them. one minute you’re washing clothes and the next minute your washing machine is no longer functioning and soon thereafter you begin to wonder how in the world you’re going to rescue your clothes from the front end loader washing machine that promised to use less water but now has no water, for an undetermined amount of time, to use. one minute your having your hair dyed and the next minute the hairdresser realizes there’s no water for which to rinse your hair in.

ok, so that last “one minute…” example didn’t happen to me, but it did happen.

having any one of these things happen to us is quite the inconvenience… but what has always baffled me is that until yesterday we’ve never received a notice or a warning of such things.

and now that i have received one am i happy?

no way!

because the reality is i don’t want it to happen, not ever, and a cursory notice seems like such a weak consolation prize that i’d rather keep my water, my way of life, my rights.

and there it is.

i think i have rights.

all my life i have thought access to water anytime of the day on every single day of the year my right. when in fact it’s not.

if i remember correctly it was just over 100 or so years ago that people began to have private plumbing.

oh how far we’ve come!

and how spoiled i am. that i would claim my rights to something that so many others in the world still don’t have.

granted, this realization isn’t a comfort to me in my distress… but a little bit of perspective can go a long way.

hope your april fool’s actually comes with a joke.

but if not, i hope it brings with it an opportunity to self inspect and gain a bit of perspective.

3 thoughts on “april fool’s (non) joke…

  1. Like you said, at least you received notice, but that still doesn’t make it any better.

    Hope you were able to store some before it was turned off.

    It’s going to be a loooooooonnnnnnnngggggggg weekend, right??? LOL

  2. PS – Your new page format looks so……….. empty?, plain?, incomplete?, or something. I just can’t put my finger on it.

  3. When we first moved to the Big Country, we would lose power and water without warning, sometimes for days on end. I was very, very annoyed. Then we moved downtown, and would be without water for days at a time. They gave notice, so I was at least thankful that I knew I wouldn’t be cooking or washing clothes for a few days. Now that we’ve moved to another part of town, they give notice in advance (as often as possible) and almost always it isn’t even as much time as they told us it would be! I guess they do it on purpose to make us thankful – and I guess I’m a sucka’ b/c I appreciate it! 🙂
    P.S. I SOOOO get the “I have rights!” struggle. It peaks it’s ugly head into so many parts of my life, even now while we visit the USA!
    P.P.S. I like the new format.

Leave a comment