five sentence friday #20

this coming week i will turn a year older but my age is not what i’m most concerned about.  you see, i’ve noticed my body succumbing to the realities of aging.

my hope is that as i age – as it seems inevitable – that jarod will not notice so much my graying hair or the sprouts my “fine lines” but they’ll see my “details” and remember their source.

eyes, lined no longer with sadness but creased with joy, hands roughed up by unending holding and acts of love, giggle lines made more pronounced by big & loud awkwardly silent laughter.

and i hope that i am able to age gracefully, radiating not so much the conventional definition of beauty, but by wisdom, love & a joyful surrendering to God’s will for my life.

Leave a Reply

